We are a Gaming Clan transitioning from PS3 to the PS4 platform, based in USA EST. (-5GM)
 
HomePortalFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistLog in

Share | 
 

 First Reviews Please

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
STP_Captain_Slow
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
avatar

Number of posts : 2263
Age : 31
Location : Newcastle, England
Registration date : 2008-02-11

PostSubject: First Reviews Please   Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:59 pm

Well if any of you guys (Girl) can peel yourself away from the game for two minutes i wouldn't mind an initial reaction compared to what you first thought of CoD4 (be critical!!!)

-Martin

_________________
[STP] MART1N_NUFC
KZ2: General - top 1% for week Wohooo
CoD4: Prestige Level 10 Rank 55
Gold Guns: Uzi (no cage matches)
CoD5: Prestige Level 0 Rank 50
Zombies: 20 Rounds

Trophies: Bronze 143 - Silver 32 - Gold 7 - Platinum 0 (Yet)

Back to top Go down
View user profile
tripl_b
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
avatar

Number of posts : 1700
Age : 37
Location : Central FL
Registration date : 2008-02-24

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:20 pm

pretty cool , kinda laggy right now though and I can't connect to anyone's party. it is annopying that it is so dark I'm having trouble seeing anything.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:42 pm

its mad easy my kill death is like 2.83 lmfao which is up from 1.23 on cod4.....other than that the thompson rocks so if you liked the mp5 like me use that gun i have gone 28-8 and 32-9 with in
Back to top Go down
tripl_b
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
avatar

Number of posts : 1700
Age : 37
Location : Central FL
Registration date : 2008-02-24

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:38 pm

A little bit more on it...it's not bad, but like I said earlier I'm having serious connection issues with other clan members. I hope it's just due to the number of players online now. The gameplay is pretty good though it seems to lack the crispness of COD4. The molotov cocktail is a bitch for a grenade as it takes so long to throw and the thompson is my favorite gun so far as well.

I've only played it for 2 hours so far and it gets 4 out of 5 stars.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:03 pm

One of the reviews I read said it was not as tactical but still satisfying. Is that the case?
Back to top Go down
DonMat23
Co-Leader
Co-Leader
avatar

Number of posts : 2115
Age : 44
Location : New Jersey
Registration date : 2008-02-16

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:38 am

Love it.....The maps, graphics and scenes are absolutely stunning, 100% nicer than COD4, doesn't even compare. Like any new game it takes getting used to but the controls are exactly the same as COD4, so you don't need to worry.

Like Tripl said, the play is not as crisp as COD4, but it's pretty close.
New weapons and the new driving the tank feature is a nice change from always running around. I still love Modern Warfare but was getting alittle tired of the same ol' thing. If anyone was hesitant about getting it, don't be, you will not be disappointed.

Time for something new and World at War is it.

_________________
MAJ DonMat23
[STP] - XO

"Time to Nut up or Shut up"
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MercuryRising
Clan Leader (Admin)
Clan Leader (Admin)
avatar

Number of posts : 2215
Age : 49
Location : Portland, ME
Registration date : 2008-02-05

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:11 am

Graphically, this game is stunning. Treyarch still can't carry Infinity Wards jock strap but since they skinned COD4, they couldn't really screw it up. I played part of the single player, co-op and multiplayer.

The co-op is sweet. The single player is very similiar to co-op but both single player and co-op introductions need a lot more polish. The maps on the multiplayer are decent size with so much to learn about each one. Lots of ways to kill and be killed.

Overall, I wish COD5 was a continuation of modern warfare. This game doesn't wow you like COD4 but I think will grow on you. I'll have more later tonight.

_________________
"UNITY IS STRENGTH"
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.newenglandps3clan.webs.com
STP_Captain_Slow
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
avatar

Number of posts : 2263
Age : 31
Location : Newcastle, England
Registration date : 2008-02-11

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:47 am

Wohoo, Thompson it is then!!!!

_________________
[STP] MART1N_NUFC
KZ2: General - top 1% for week Wohooo
CoD4: Prestige Level 10 Rank 55
Gold Guns: Uzi (no cage matches)
CoD5: Prestige Level 0 Rank 50
Zombies: 20 Rounds

Trophies: Bronze 143 - Silver 32 - Gold 7 - Platinum 0 (Yet)

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shamos98
Command Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
avatar

Number of posts : 1550
Age : 53
Location : Nantucket, MA
Registration date : 2008-02-06

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:56 am

Martin I was thinking you would be going for the MP40, the forerunner of your favorite MP4...

_________________
Shane
AKA STP_SGM_Plumley

"Any of you sum bitches calls me Grandpa.... I'll kill ya..." Sam Elliott in "We Were Soldiers"


Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.madaketmarine.com/
STP_Captain_Slow
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
avatar

Number of posts : 2263
Age : 31
Location : Newcastle, England
Registration date : 2008-02-11

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:46 am

Shamos98 wrote:
Martin I was thinking you would be going for the MP40, the forerunner of your favorite MP4...

Me confussed Rolling Eyes

_________________
[STP] MART1N_NUFC
KZ2: General - top 1% for week Wohooo
CoD4: Prestige Level 10 Rank 55
Gold Guns: Uzi (no cage matches)
CoD5: Prestige Level 0 Rank 50
Zombies: 20 Rounds

Trophies: Bronze 143 - Silver 32 - Gold 7 - Platinum 0 (Yet)

Back to top Go down
View user profile
tripl_b
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
avatar

Number of posts : 1700
Age : 37
Location : Central FL
Registration date : 2008-02-24

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:22 pm

btw, I forgot to mention this earlier - those dogs ruin the game. I swear they are a million times worse than the helicopter.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DonMat23
Co-Leader
Co-Leader
avatar

Number of posts : 2115
Age : 44
Location : New Jersey
Registration date : 2008-02-16

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:30 pm

tripl_b wrote:
btw, I forgot to mention this earlier - those dogs ruin the game. I swear they are a million times worse than the helicopter.

Yeah...they suck, but at least you can kill them if you see them coming. I knife or a few rounds into them and they are done.

_________________
MAJ DonMat23
[STP] - XO

"Time to Nut up or Shut up"
Back to top Go down
View user profile
weddingsinger
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
avatar

Number of posts : 1252
Age : 40
Location : GF, ND
Registration date : 2008-02-06

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:21 am

Question: Can you do 2 player multiplayer from one machine? As in, 2 people playing from my PS3 getting into multiplayer games (not just CO-Op).

_________________
weddingsinger
Best Kill Streak
MW1: 25 (On Vacant with the Skorpion)
MW2: 30 (NUKE!)
MW3: 20
Grand Forks Wedding DJ Fargo Wedding DJ
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.RNBWeddings.com
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:36 am

Not sure, I haven't been able to hook up with anyone yet on multiplayer. Looks like that will still be a pain. I tried a couple of times to link up with Merc.

The solo campaign is pretty wild, I like sticking people with the bayonet. I also like the counter move when they try to stab me.

On the multiplayer, I love it. I was worried that I didn't have my favorite RDS, but they came up with an apeture that is similar. I don't like how you earn you sniper scope, and the supressors are the first thing you get. I really could car less about the supressor.

I also don't complety understand "WAR", and the perks. They used to put this in the directions, but I guess they need you to buy the guide. Can you revive people? Also I think the gas grenades have not helped me a whole lot, infact I don't really like the M-Cocktails either.. Way to long to throw and it doesn't even kill them on direct contact. I hit a guy from behind, point blank and he just ran away and didn't die.

Love the maps though and the rifles......
Back to top Go down
Shamos98
Command Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
avatar

Number of posts : 1550
Age : 53
Location : Nantucket, MA
Registration date : 2008-02-06

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:37 am

Singer the answer (I think from what I have seen) is yes, I believe you can do that and I think you can split the screen for it.

At least that was my understanding of what I read in the instructions and in the forums, but then again my ex-wife will tell you I don't understand anything so take that however you want. Question

Update, this was the best I could find for you....
Co-Op Campaign Mode:

“No One Fights Alone” takes on new meaning as players can complete the entire single player campaign with up to four players online or two players via split-screen (both online and offline). Strategizing with others provides gameplay diversity, replayability and engagement. Complete unique co-op challenges to earn rewards and bragging rights. The title takes the perks, rankings and online stats that players love in multiplayer and builds them into the cooperative campaign as well, adding even more variety, replayability and continuous fun.

_________________
Shane
AKA STP_SGM_Plumley

"Any of you sum bitches calls me Grandpa.... I'll kill ya..." Sam Elliott in "We Were Soldiers"


Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.madaketmarine.com/
xDARKxSENTRYx
Captain
Captain
avatar

Number of posts : 588
Age : 45
Location : Mobile, AL
Registration date : 2008-08-29

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:09 pm

I first thought that campers would have a field day with all the nooks and crannys on the maps but with the maps being so large you can't really camp, if you don't go to the fighting it may take a while for it to come to you. Also, it looks like there is not any choke points on the maps. The maps almost seem cluttered, this could be because its new, its hard to find targets and there are a lot of obsticles to cross from one side to the other. When we were playing HQ's it seem like it took forever to find a route to the HQ. I do like the different storys on buildings, unlike cod4 where any building only had 2 levels, like the bell tower which is about 5 storys tall. Also the tanks are pretty cool, drove one for a while and got a few kills. What are you all using on perk 3, with the maps being so large extreme conditioning seem like it will be a valuable perk. How are you setting up your classs and what weapons and perks work best?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:23 pm

I use my old favorite "stopping power", but as I was talking with someone
this morning, I think Juggernaut is more powerful this time. I have gotten killed more by someones knife when I'm unloading a clip in there chest then I ever did in COD4. Either the weapons take longer to kill or maybe stopping power isn't the way to go.

I agree if you like to try and outflank people, then you defiantly need EC. Other than that I use Steady Aim, but I'm not sure if I will anymore, because most of my shots on these maps are medium range anyway.

I also think that at a minimum that you should have a rocket or stick grenades for the tanks. One time I was facing three tanks and that helps....

Has anyone found the grenades useful?

Oh! Love the "Tink" sounds when you shot someone in the head! lol
Back to top Go down
DA_FRIDGE1
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel


Number of posts : 2424
Age : 38
Location : Prairieville, LA.
Registration date : 2008-03-04

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:12 am

i could hardly link up with anyone tonight, and it seems like there is a delay between me firing and them getting hit. and when people are moving sideways it seems like you have to aim a little differently than cod4. im gonna try juggernaut instead of stopping power also.

i havent killed too many people with grenades, they take way to damn long to throw. is anyone else having trouble seeing people? i have to slow down a whole lot or i wont see anyone because they blend in so well with the destruction. has anyone hit anything with the morters? ive died once and i havent killed anyone with them yet, even when they are dropped on their heads. im liking the game, but it is gonna take awhile to get over the guns. im looking forward to playing again.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
fresh52
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
avatar

Number of posts : 117
Age : 29
Location : ohio
Registration date : 2008-03-10

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:16 am

i f****** love this gammme.... kill death up to 1.4 from 1.07 its great need to start plyn more with ya so i can get my win loss ratio up cuz i cant do it all by myself ofcourse
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:01 am

Last night I was 29 - 1 with a damn sniper rilfe, no scope, in close - medium combat. I was just laying people out. I finally got to call in the dogs. One tactic that seems to work is get extreme conditioning and try to run with the dogs. People don't know who to shot first. Easy kills.

Very easy for people to hide, I kinda like that. It seems more realistic, but frustrating sometimes.

Did anyone try to create a squad? I don't understand how that works exactly, but I was giving orders to people. Of course they didn't listen! Wink

Everyone, I'm now officially STP_DeathWhisper
Back to top Go down
phatmike21
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
avatar

Number of posts : 991
Age : 47
Location : okc oklahoma
Registration date : 2008-02-26

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:31 pm

I'm not digging it and mostly due to the maps are so huge I got the marathon perk in two days. Well my game is HQ and the huge maps suck. I may not prestige I may pull a death and stay put. The reason I say that is in cod4 I dont even like using my gold cross account and with the only incentive being more calss then it will not be enough to intice me.

_________________
phatmike21 / 1ST SGT
cod4:10-55 cod5: 0-65

Phatmike7x3
MW3-all the way.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MercuryRising
Clan Leader (Admin)
Clan Leader (Admin)
avatar

Number of posts : 2215
Age : 49
Location : Portland, ME
Registration date : 2008-02-05

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:58 pm

Mike, I'm finding that because the maps are generally larger then the COD4 maps and that there is so much cover and concealment, that the running and gunning style is not going to be as productive on World at War. Alot of these maps are Sniper Heavens. I unlocked the Type 100 submachine gun today and used it with a suppressor playing Hardcore TDM in Makin, going 23-3. My set up was with bettys, camo and second chance perks.

It's going to take some time getting to know these maps cold but I'm enjoying this game alot. Hang in there bro.

_________________
"UNITY IS STRENGTH"
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.newenglandps3clan.webs.com
phatmike21
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
avatar

Number of posts : 991
Age : 47
Location : okc oklahoma
Registration date : 2008-02-26

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:08 pm

Yeah I started sniping today and unlocked like two new scopes and it does seems like its working out better but thats tuff in HQ. I was playing some war and capture the flag they are kinda cool but will take some getting used to.

_________________
phatmike21 / 1ST SGT
cod4:10-55 cod5: 0-65

Phatmike7x3
MW3-all the way.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MercuryRising
Clan Leader (Admin)
Clan Leader (Admin)
avatar

Number of posts : 2215
Age : 49
Location : Portland, ME
Registration date : 2008-02-05

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Thu Nov 13, 2008 10:19 pm

I was going to say Mike that I would think the sniping would be right up your alley. I'm definately going to be deploying the sniper rifle playing World at War more now that I've had a chance to run through most of the maps. I think the sniping will produce some nice kill/death ratios here in the Clan.

_________________
"UNITY IS STRENGTH"
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.newenglandps3clan.webs.com
tripl_b
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
avatar

Number of posts : 1700
Age : 37
Location : Central FL
Registration date : 2008-02-24

PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:41 am

i haven't tried sniping yet, do you guys have some good snipe points for me to work with?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: First Reviews Please   

Back to top Go down
 
First Reviews Please
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 3Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Codex: Orks review from Dakka Dakka
» Victories of the Space Marines
» Cliffbee.com
» Hasbro's 2.5 foot millenium Falcon
» Gears of War 3 Reviews...

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Special Tactics Protocol [STP] :: World at War Game Talk-
Jump to: